Durham Pride

Hi friends, I hope you’re all well. On Monday (29th of May) I went to Durham Pride, my first ever pride event and I absolutely loved it. It was a day filled with so much love, acceptance and fun. It was so moving to see so many people, of all ages and backgrounds fill the streets of my home city to celebrate the LGBTQ+ community. The day was a safe place where anyone could openly be who they want to be and love who they want to love, without fear of being judged or shamed. We started the day by marching in the parade- from Durham Cathedral down to The Sands, where the event was held.

The streets were filled with people marching and others watching and showing their support.

 imageimageimageimage

The emergency services – including the police, ambulance and fire services – were all out showing their support for the community too. This made me feel so happy that the emergency services are there to help – and are supportive of – everyone, and they’re there to make sure that everyone is safe.

The day was filled with amazing performances from acts including Jedward, Stooshe and Amelia Lily.

And I even met The Queen!!

image

Overall, my first ever pride was such a fun and enjoyable day. I loved every second of it – the only bad point was the weather – it rained for most of the day (which obviously couldn’t be helped) but luckily we bought VIP tickets, so could sit in the VIP tent and stay dry. Like I said, Monday was a day filled with joy, acceptance and love. Where people were free to be who they truly are without any worries – I just wish every day was pride day. I can’t wait to go to more pride events in the future and experience this love all over again.


I hope you enjoyed this blogpost, and if you did make sure to follow my blog to be notified every time I upload! Until next time – stay safe, have fun, spread love and be happy. Bye friends!

One thought on “Durham Pride

Leave a Reply

