Frozen Banana Ice-Cream Alternative

Hi friends, and welcome back. Something you may not know about me is I have an obsession with ice-cream and ice-lollies – basically anything frozen and sweet – and since it’s summer here in the UK, and we’ve been having some really amazing weather (for once) I’ve been eating tonnes of the stuff. I recently saw that you can make a really easy banana alternative, for a healthier option to all that dairy with artificial sugars and sweeteners, so I just had to try it for myself to see if it works. Today, I decided to share with you five different flavours that I tried – and I strongly recommend trying these for yourself because they are so amazing and so easy!

Side-note for any vegan readers out there: three of these recipes are vegan, so give them a go yourself – or you can replace/leave out the dairy items in the other two to make them vegan-friendly. 


Plain Banana

Okay, so this one is pretty basic and is the foundation to all of these combinations, but still tasty nonetheless! Peel and slice two bananas (two bananas is about the right amount for one portion depending on the size of your bananas, so use more if you want to make more than one portion). Pop them into a freezer bag or container, and stick them in the freezer- leave them for a couple of hours, or preferably overnight until frozen. Then, take your frozen bananas, stick them in a blender or food processor and give them a good whizz. Return to the freezer if you want them a little more frozen (and ice-cream like) or you can enjoy it straight away. And that’s it, it really is that simple!

imageimageimage

 


Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chip

This is my personal fave. For this one, you want to start by following the steps for the plain banana, except add peanut butter into the blender with your bananas. I then stirred in the chocolate chips afterwards- just because I wanted to keep them whole, so didn’t want to blend them.

image

 


Raspberry and White Chocolate Chip

Simply put your frozen bananas with a few frozen raspberries (or you could use fresh ones if you wish) into your blender and give them a blitz. Again, I added the chocolate chips afterward just to keep them chunky.

image

 


Banana and Pistachio 

I think you might be starting to get the gist now, throw them in a blender or food processor. If you want to keep the pistachio nuts a little more chunky, you can add them afterwards, either add them whole, or chop them by hand into the size that you desire.

image


Piña Colada 

To your frozen bananas, add desiccated coconut, pineapple and rum before blending. That’s right, this is a one for the adults – or you can just leave out the rum for a non-alcoholic version.

image


Thanks so much for reading this week’s blog post. I really hope you do try out these easy treats and enjoy them as much as me! I didn’t add any measurements for how much of each flavouring you should add just because I think it’s best to try it as you go along, and make it to your taste. Don’t feel limited to the flavours you can try- get creative and experiment with different tastes until you find the one for you.

Make sure you follow my blog so you never miss a post, all you need is an email address! Other than that – stay safe, have a fantastic week and I hope to see you here again next time! Goodbye friends.

Leave a Reply

